Current Weather

On Air Now

Bob Baron
Bob Baron
6:00pm - Midnight

Three area students honored at Bryant-Jordan State Awards


BIRMINGHAM – Guntersville High School’s Gabe Marsh and Rogers High School’s Erin Brown were selected the overall state winners at the 37th annual Bryant-Jordan Student Athlete Awards Banquet held at the Sheraton Ballroom Monday night. A total of 104 high school regional senior honorees were recognized and awarded more than $380,000 in scholarships.

Brown, a volleyball and basketball standout at Rogers High School located in the small community of Green Hill in Lauderdale County, was the recipient of the 2022 Larry D. Striplin, Jr., Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award. Guntersville’s Marsh, a swimmer, was selected the 2022 Ken and Betty Joy Blankenship Student Achievement Athlete of the Year Award.

The scholarship program, named in honor of the late coaches Paul “Bear” Bryant of Alabama and Ralph “Shug” Jordan of Auburn, recognized 52 regional scholar-athlete winners selected for their excellence in athletics and academics and 52 achievement winners chosen for their ability to overcome major obstacles during their high school careers.

Jasper’s Preston Reed was the class 6A Larry D. Striplin, Jr. Scholarship recipient. Makayla Lindsey of Winston County was named the class 2A Ken and Betty Joy Blankenship Student Achievement winner, as well as the Dr. Gaylon McCollough Medical Scholarship. Oakman’s Madison Martin took home the Alabama “A” Club Educational and Charitable Foundation Scholarship.

Each of the 104 regional winners received a $3,000 scholarship; the 14 Class Winners received an additional $3,500; and for each overall state winner, the additional stipend received was $4,000.

In addition, several other individuals and organizations have also joined the Bryant-Jordan Program and present additional scholarships as well. Since the Bryant-Jordan Scholarship Program’s inception, 3,430 senior student-athletes have received approximately $10.8 million in scholarships through last year.

The list of other class and special scholarship recipients honored Monday night were:

2022 Bryant-Jordan Winners
Ken and Betty Joy Blankenship Student Achievement Winner
OVERALL: Gabe Marsh, Guntersville HS
1A – Katelyn Frazier, Phillips HS
2A – Makayla Lindsey, Winston County HS
3A – Styles Hughes, Sylvania HS
4A – Kasia Nicholson, Wilcox-Central HS
5A – Gabe Marsh, Guntersville HS
6A – Gabe Gamble, Pelham HS
7A – Ty Roper, Foley HS

Larry Striplin Jr.  Scholar-Athlete Winners
OVERALL: Erin Brown, Rogers HS
1A – Megan Roe, Sweet Water HS
2A – Reave Metcalf, Westminster-Oak Mountain
3A – Hayden Floyd, J.B. Pennington
4A – Erin Brown, Rogers HS
5A – William Jameson, St. Paul’s Episcopal
6A – Preston Reed, Jasper HS
7A – Davis Amare, Fairhope HS

2022 Bryant-Jordan Special Scholarships
Herman L. “Bubba” Scott Coaching Scholarship
Elijah Kirby, Fort Payne High School

Dr. Gaylon McCollough Medical Scholarship
McKayla Lindsey, Winston County High School
Katelyn Frazier, Phillips High School
Styles Hughes, Sylvania High School
JaKarrie McPherson, McKenzie High School

W. Edgar Welden Service Scholarship
Savannah Downey, Jackson High School
Hudson Hill, New Hope High School

Alabama “A” Club Educational and Charitable Foundation Scholarship
Scholar Division: Riley Jordan, Carroll High School
Achievement Division: Madison Martin, Oakman High School

Auburn Football Lettermen Club Scholarship
Scholar Division: Wesley Hawkins, Douglas High School
Achievement Division: Thomas Stovall, Alabama Christian Academy