Current Weather

On Air Now

Bob Baron
Bob Baron
6:00pm - Midnight

Nine area football players land ASWA All-State honors


The Alabama Sports Writers Association (ASWA) All-State football team for the 2021 season has been released. Nine players from the Wal-Win Area were featured on the list, including an area high three from Oakman.

The team is selected by the ASWA’s prep committee through coaches’ nominations sent to local sports writers. The ASWA’s prep committee will name three finalists for back and lineman of the year in each of the seven AHSAA classifications and the AISA on Dec. 26.

That group will be honored at the annual Player of the Year banquet in Montgomery on Jan. 13 where the back and lineman of the year in each class will be announced as well as the state’s Mr. Football.

2021 ASWA All-State Football Team (Wal-Win Area)

4A – First-Team – P: Brennan Davis, Dora, Sr., 6-0, 150

3A – First-Team – DL: AJ Odom, Oakman, Sr., 6-3, 235

3A – Second-Team – OL: Trey Thomas, Oakman, Sr., 5-11, 255

3A – Second-Team – ATH: Kaedyn Marchbanks, Oakman, Sr., 5-10, 165

3A – Honorable Mention – RB: Devon Daniel, Carbon Hill, Jr., 6-0, 205

2A – First-Team – ATH: Ryker Morgan, Winston Co., Sr., 5-11, 163

1A – Second-Team – OL: Tyler Cooper, Meek, Jr., 5-11, 230

1A – Second-Team – OL: Jake McDonald, Sumiton Christian, Sr., 5-11, 212

1A – Second-Team – LB: Tyler Ingle, Sumiton Christian, Sr., 5-10, 185


The entire list of honorees can be found here