Current Weather

On Air Now

Coyote J
Coyote J
7:00pm - 11:30pm

2021 GLAAD Awards: Winners list


The 32nd Annual GLAAD Awards aired Thursday night and it was nothing short of a celebration of inclusivity. 

The show, which aims to “recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate, and inclusive representations of the intersectional LGBTQ community,” was hosted by Niecy Nash and included musical performances from ChikaJessica Betts and Rebecca Black.

There was also a remembrance and celebration of the late Naya Rivera and her Glee character Santana, who came out on the show 10 years ago. Demi Lovato, who portrayed Santana’s girlfriend on the hit series, kicked-off the special moment that allowed the Glee cast to reminisce about their former colleague. Naya tragically died in a drowning accident last summer.  

The GLAAD Awards also featured appearances by JoJo SiwaKaty PerryLaverne CoxSterling K. BrownDan Levy and more!

Here is the list of winners:

Outstanding Music Artist
Sam Smith, Love Goes (Capitol)

Outstanding Reality Program
We’re Here (HBO)

Outstanding Children’s Programming
The Not-Too-Late Show with Elmo (HBO Max)

Outstanding Kids & Family Programming
Tie: First Day (Hulu) and She-Ra & The Princesses of Power (Netflix)

Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode
“Lilly Responds to Comments About Her Sexuality” A Little Late With Lilly Singh (NBC)

Outstanding Documentary
Disclosure (Netflix)

Outstanding Film — Limited Release
The Boys in the Band (Netflix)

TikTok Queer Advocate of the Year
Josh Helfgott

Outstanding Drama Series
Star Trek: Discovery (CBS All Access)

Outstanding Film — Wide Release
Happiest Season (Hulu)

Outstanding Comedy Series
Schitt’s Creek (Pop)

Outstanding Limited or Anthology Series
I May Destroy You (HBO)

Outstanding Breakthrough Music Artist
Chika, Industry Games (Warner Records)

Outstanding Video Game
Tie: The Last of Us Part II (Sony Interactive Entertainment) and Tell Me Why (Xbox Game Studios)

Outstanding Comic Book
Empyre, Lords of Empyre: Emperor Hulkling, Empyre: Aftermath Avengers, written by Al Ewing, Dan Slott, Chip Zdarsky, Anthony Oliveira (Marvel Comics)

Outstanding TV Journalism — Long-Form
“ABC News Joe Biden Town Hall” (ABC)

Outstanding TV Journalism Segment
“Dwyane Wade One-On-One: Basketball Legend Opens Up About Supporting Transgender Daughter” Good Morning America (ABC)

Outstanding Print Article
“20 LGBTQ+ People Working to Save Lives on the Frontline” by Diane Anderson-Minshall, David Artavia, Tracy Gilchrist, Desiree Guerrero, Jeffrey Masters, Donald Padgett, and Daniel Reynolds (The Advocate)

Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage

Outstanding Online Journalism Article
“Gay Men Speak Out After Being Turned Away from Donating Blood During Coronavirus Pandemic: ‘We are Turning Away Perfectly Healthy Donors’” by Tony Morrison and Joel Lyons (

Outstanding TV Movie
Uncle Frank (Amazon Studios)

Outstanding Online Journalism — Video or Multimedia
“Stop Killing Us: Black Transgender Women’s Lived Experiences” by Talibah Newman Ometu, Thomas Blount, Juliana Schatz Preston, and Mariah Dupont (Complex World)

Outstanding Blog

Special Recognition (non-competitive category)
After Forever (Amazon)
Deadline’s New Hollywood Podcast
Happiest Season Soundtrack (Facet/Warner Records)
Noah’s Arc: The ‘Rona Chronicles (Patrik Ian-Polk Entertainment)
Out (Pixar/Disney+)
Razor Tongue (YouTube)
“The Son” Little America (Apple TV+)

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.