Current Weather

On Air Now

Ken Cocker
Ken Cocker
2:00pm - 6:00pm

Iggy Pop named winner of 2022 Polar Music Prize


Iggy Pop has been named the winner of the 2022 Polar Music Prize.

The prestigious Swedish award, often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Music,” will be presented to the Godfather of Punk during a ceremony in Stockholm taking place May 24.

“I was aware of the very fine range of people that had gotten the Polar Music Prize…so it’s a nice step for me,” Pop says in a statement. “I respect it and I’m honored by it…I’m looking forward to coming to Stockholm in May to receive the Prize.”

Among those who’ve previously won the Polar Music Prize are Metallica, Paul McCartney, Led Zeppelin, Bruce Springsteen, Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan, Peter Gabriel, Sting, Elton John, Chuck Berry, Joni Mitchell, Paul Simon, Patti Smith and Bjork.

The Polar Music Prize comes with a monetary award of one million Swedish kronor, or about $110,000.

For more info, visit

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.